Yacht- I Thought the Future Would Be Cooler

Yacht- I Thought the Future Would Be Cooler

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Downtown

Released 10/16/15

I Thought The Future Would Be Cooler is a sweeping and visionary critique of the 21st century. It reveals the band at it's most self-assured: critical, funny, tough, and musically diverse, crafting an infectious and hyperactive conceptual pop that seems to seep through the walls of an alternate universe. YACHT’s knowing references to technology, feminism, and media are layered in complex arrangements in songs about holograms and phones, police violence and identity, sex and the future. The album draws from a weird well of ADD influences: ‘80s Japanese electronic reggae (SANDII & The SUNSETZ, HARUOMI HONSONO), '70s and '80s post-punk and no wave (FAMILY FODDER, The WAITRESSES, SUBURBAN LAWNS, KILLING JOKE, A CERTAIN RATIO, DEVO), Norwegian disco (TODD TERJE, LINDTROM, PRINS THOMAS), and Grand Royal Records-era alternative music (CIBO MATTO, LUSCIOUS JACKSON, MONEY MARK). (Limited copies pressed on white vinyl.)

Track Listing:

    1. Miles & Miles
    2. White Mirror
    3. Matter
    4. Ringtone
    5. I Thought the Future Would Be Cooler
    6. L.A. Plays Itself
    7. I Wanna Fuck You Till I'm Dead (Jona Bechtolt, Claire Evans, Alig Fodder and Rob Kieswetter)
    8. Hologram
    9. Don't Be Rude
    10. War on Women
    11. The Entertainment