Young Marble Giants- Colossal Youth
Young Marble Giants- Colossal Youth

Young Marble Giants- Colossal Youth

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Domino

Released 12/4/20

Young Marble Giants one and only album, Colossal Youth, is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year. To mark the occasion the Cardiff trio are releasing a special edition reissue. This edition includes the titular album as well as songs from Salad DaysIs The War Over, the "Final Day" single and their Testcard EP alongside a live DVD of their last ever show at Hurrah in New York from 1980. 

The band, comprised of, guitarist/songwriter Stuart Moxham, brother and bassist Phillip, and singer Alison Staton, emerged from the punk and post-punk landscape with a sound unique to them. Colossal Youth, which was recorded in only five days, hailed by Kurt Cobain as one of the five most influential records he'd ever heard, went on to influence entire generations of musicians and artists from Sheffield to Seattle. 

Cited as one of the most definitive records of the post-punk era, there is something almost canonical about the album's use of voice, muted instruments, and space. The attention to sparse detail we see on Colossal Youth has been adopted by haunted electronica auteurs and spectral singer songwriters alike, but there is only one band to ever sound like Young Marble Giants, and that is Young Marble Giants. 

The 40th anniversary album is available on double transparent-vinyl (indie exclusive), black vinyl, and a double CD. All formats come with the DVD of the bands final performance at Hurrah from 1980.

Track Listing:

  1. Searching For Mr Right
  2. Include Me Out
  3. The Taxi
  4. Eating Noddemix
  5. Constantly Changing
  6. N.I.T.A. A7 Colossal Youth
  7. Music For Evenings
  8. The Man Amplifier
  9. Choci Loni
  10. Wurlitzer Jukebox !
  11. Salad Days
  12. Credit In The Straight World
  13. Brand - New - Life
  14. Wind In The Rigging
  15. Have Your Toupée Ready
  16. The Man Shares His Meal With His Beast
  17. Hayman
  18. Loop The Loop
  19. Ode To Booker T
  20. Final Day
  21. Radio Silents
  22. Cakewalking
  23. This Way
  24. Posed By Models
  25. The Clock
  26. Clicktalk
  27. Zebra Trucks
  28. Sporting Life