Chicago Farmer- Backenforth. IL

Chicago Farmer- Backenforth. IL

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Self-release

Released 2013

“Get me South,  Mama get me North,  Get me out of Backenforth,” CHICAGO FARMER sings on the title track of Backenforth, IL. It’s the centerpiece of his sixth collection of GUTHRIE-inspired populist songs, as well as autobiographical. The son of a small town farming community, Cody Diekhoff logged plenty of highway and stage time under the name CHICAGO FARMER before settling in the city in 2003. Profoundly inspired by fellow mid-westerner JOHN PRINE, he’s a working-class folk musician to his core. His small town roots, tilled with city streets mentality, are turning heads North and South of I-80.

Track listing:

  1. Everybody In This Town
  2. Workin' On It
  3. The Twenty Dollar Bill
  4. Backenforth
  5. 200 Miles Away
  6. The Jon Stokes Prison Break Rules
  7. Who On Earth
  8. Backseat