Teethgrynder- Hostages

Teethgrynder- Hostages

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Isolation

Released 10/29/2021

Written and recorded at the end of 2019, TEETHGRYNDER delivers his most sophisticated record yet, featuring JAYE JAYLE's Evan Patterson and DAUGHTERS' Alexis Marshall, both of whom have worked with Jay previously. Other contributing musicians include BOSSK guitarist Robert Vaughan, Visual artist and long-term collaborator Richey Beckett, FILTH IS ETERNAL vocalist Lisa Mungo, FALL OF EFRAFA's Neil Kingsbury and among others, maybe even David Yow of THE JESUS LIZARD. HOSTAGES opens with the narration of a bloody, bass-driven stomp down a muddy, tree-lined path, nodding to Nick Cave's earlier work with his Bad Seeds. Alexis Marshall's inquisitive observation in Votive Sighs haunts a composition of strings, brass and electric piano, providing respite from the more pounding, god-invoking sound of Cyclops and Vanity, the Fool. The album's title track is the Yin to perhaps the most uplifting song on a TEETHGRYNDER album, Not Lonely. Evan Patterson of JAYE JAYLE provides a drifting array of vocal and string arrangements to Jay's glockenspiel droplets and saxophone breaths, used in ways juxtaposed to their harshness in other pieces.

Track listing:

  1. Devilman
  2. Casey Rowes Ghost
  3. Zeal, The Assassin
  4. Not Lonely
  5. Vanity, The Fool
  6. Votive Sighs
  7. Beans 
  8. Stare At The Ground