Whitney- Spark
Whitney- Spark
Whitney- Spark
Whitney- Spark

Whitney- Spark

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Secretly Canadian

Released 9/16/2022

Julien Ehrlich and Max Kakacek could hear the staggering differences in the songs they were writing for their third album as Whitney, SPARK—the buoyant drum loops, the effortless falsetto hooks, the coruscant keyboard lines. They suddenly sounded like a band reimagined, their once-ramshackle folk-pop now brimming with unprecedented gusto and sheen. But could they see it, too?  SPARK reintroduces Whitney as a contemporary syndicate of classic pop, its dozen imaginative and endearing tracks wrapping fetching melodies around paisley-print Dilla beats and luxuriant electronics. What’s more, Whitney reduces three years of extreme emotional highs and lows into 38 brisk but deep minutes, each of these 12 tracks a singable lesson in what it is they (and, really, we) have all survived. The recalcitrant ennui of opener “NOTHING REMAINS,” the devastating loss of “TERMINAL,” the sun-streaked renewal of “REAL LOVE”: However surprising it may sound, SPARK is less a radical reinvention for Whitney than an honest accounting of how it feels when you move out of your past and into your present, when you take the next steps of your lives and careers at once and without apology. SPARK maintains the warmth and ease of Whitney’s early work; these songs glow with the newness of now. A ‘Chicago’ exclusive is available to physical shops located in Illinois, the band’s home state

Track listing:

  1. Nothing Remains
  2. Back Then
  3. Blue 
  4. Twirl
  5. Real Love
  6. Memory
  7. Self
  8. Never Crossed My Mind
  9. Terminal
  10. Heart Will Beat
  11. Lost Control
  12. County Lines