Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers- Just Coolin'

Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers- Just Coolin'

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Blue Note

Reissued 7/17/20, originally released 1959

A never-before-released studio album by Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers recorded at Rudy Van Gelder’s Hackensack, New Jersey studio on March 8, 1959, and featuring the legendary drummer—whose centennial is being celebrated this year—along with trumpeter Lee Morgan, tenor saxophonist Hank Mobley, pianist Bobby Timmons, and bassist Jymie Merritt. The 6-song set includes 2 previously unissued compositions: “Quick Trick” and “Jimerick.”

Track Listing:

  1. Hipsippy Blues 6:40
  2. Close Your Eyes 6:26  
  3. Jimerick 6:22
  4. Quick Trick 4:43
  5. M&M 5:59
  6. Just Coolin' 8:43