Bright Eyes- Noise Floor (Rarities: 1998-2005)
Bright Eyes- Noise Floor (Rarities: 1998-2005)
Bright Eyes- Noise Floor (Rarities: 1998-2005)

Bright Eyes- Noise Floor (Rarities: 1998-2005)

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Dead Oceans / Bandbox

Reissued 10/20/2023, Originally released 2006

One of the things that struck Oberst as he and the band went through twenty-plus years of music is that he may in fact have been writing the same song this whole time. Not sonically, of course, but conceptually. This last wave contains, in Noise Floor, early Bright Eyes songs so raw Oberst never even released them back in the day, as well as, in Cassadaga and The People’s Key, the band’s most polished and sophisticated albums. When Bright Eyes toured Cassadega they performed an epic 7 sold-out nights at NYC’s Town Hall. What’s more grown-up rock-star than that? And yet ...“Thematically those early songs are not that different than the songs I make now,” Oberst says, shaking his head. “There’s something affirming and disheartening about it. It’s like, have I really changed or grown? But maybe it’s just that I knew what I wanted to write about from the beginning."

Track listing:

  1. Mirrors And Fevers 
  2. I Will Be Grateful For This Day 
  3. Trees Get Wheeled Away 
  4. Drunk Kid Catholic 
  5. Spent On Rainy Days 
  6. The Vanishing Act 
  7. Soon You Will Be Leaving Your Man 
  8. Blue Angels Air Show 
  9. Weather Reports 
  10. Seashell Tale 
  11. Bad Blood 
  12. Amy In The White Coat 
  13. Devil Town 
  14. I've Been Eating (For You) 
  15. Happy Birthday To Me (Feb. 15) 
  16. Motion Sickness
  17. Act Of Contrition
  18. Hungry For A Holiday
  19. When The Curious Girl Realizes She Is Under Glass Again
  20. Entry Way Song
  21. It's Cool, We Can Still Be Friends