Cabaret Voltaire- The Crackdown

Cabaret Voltaire- The Crackdown

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Mute

Reissued 6/17/2022, Originally released 1983

Mute is excited to announce the reissue of Cabaret Voltaire’s The Crackdown. Originally remastered in 2013, now reissued and repressed on limited edition Grey vinyl, out June 17th. Initially released in 1983, The Crackdown was the band’s fourth album, and first after the exit of founding member Chris Watson. The album fuses their earlier experimental records with the electronic dance-funk sound that would become more prominent within their subsequent releases. The significance of The Crackdown has upheld over the decades, being enlisted to NME’s best albums of 1983. Cabaret Voltaire were very much ahead of their time, harmonizing dance music, techno, dub, house and experimental making them, without a doubt, one of the most influential acts in electronic music.

Track listing:

  1. 24-24
  2. In The Shadows
  3. Talking Time
  4. Animation
  5. Over And Over
  6. Just Fascination
  7. Why Kill Time (When You Can Kill Yourself)
  8. Haiti
  9. Crackdown