Caspar Brötzmann Massaker- Koksofen

Caspar Brötzmann Massaker- Koksofen

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Southern Lord

Released 1993, reissued 2019

Southern Lord is proud to announce the first in a series of CASPAR BRÖTZMANN MASSAKER album reissues -- beginning with the masterful debut The Tribe, originally released in 1988, and second album, Black Axis, originally released in 1989 -- both remastered and presented as they were when originally released. CASPAR BRÖTZMANN is one of the most unique and innovative guitarists of the last forty years. With his Berlin-based trio MASSAKER, he evolved a whole new autonomous approach to writing rock songs, starting from sounds that were widely considered ornamental if not detrimental "sonic waste" such as shrieking feedback and droning overtones. This plethora of sounds were arranged into tracks to sound like breaking concrete, grinding metal, or bursting glass, at once monumental and threatening, impenetrable and hermetic, yet also archaically tender and loving.

Track Listing:

  1. Hymne
  2. Wiege
  3. Kerkersong
  4. Schlaf
  5. Koksofen