Codeine- What About The Lonely?

Codeine- What About The Lonely?

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Numero

Reissued 9/1/2023, Originally released 2013

Following on the somnambulant heels of When I See The Sun, our massive, near-complete Codeine overview, comes What About The Lonely?, an eight-track LP recorded at the group's live zenith. Captured direct from the mixing board at a stop on Codeine's November 1993 swing through the Midwest, opening for Mazzy Star, this document finds Stephen Immerwahr, John Engle, and Doug Scharin running through their hits at Chicago's notorious Lounge Ax for a crowd of chatty "120 Minutes" fans. Gastr Del Sol's David Grubbs adds his guitar to two songs, slinking on and off the 24-inch stage with little fanfare, but leaving his signature indelibly on the performance.

Track listing:

  1. Cave-In
  2. Loss Leader
  3. Jr
  4. Pickup Song
  5. Ides
  6. Tom
  7. Wird
  8. Smoking Room