Matt Sweeney & Bonnie 'Prince' Billy- Superwolves

Matt Sweeney & Bonnie 'Prince' Billy- Superwolves

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Drag City

Released 7/16/2021

MATT SWEENEY and BONNIE ‘PRINCE’ BILLY return with the follow-up to their Superwolf album from years back. The songs, then, go boldly into undreamed-of places, and go deep, as Matt and Bonny take all the musics they know to make songs that penetrate. In classic Garcia-Hunter style, Sweeney and the ‘Prince’ first work separately, finding a path to each other in their solitary imaginings. Bonnie lyric sets delivered to Matt spark Sweeney’s guitar brain; chords and a melody are shaped, recorded fast and loose and sent back to the Prince, then the two parties meet up to sing, stitch, strengthen and finally perform them together in front of a small unsuspecting audience. Then new sets of lyrics are sent, animated and played in a high wire style until the shared songs and experiences are ready to commit to record. This is just the beginning of their fusion process, as words imply vocalizations to counter and support, and guitar lines suggest harmonic fields to subtly push into. In this process, a new creature grows out of the old one. In this name of this partnership, the guitar shares an open and fluid space with the vocals, the voices sing with the guitars—every moment in the life of Superwolves is an extravaganza, guided only by its need. Received an 8.0 rating from Pitchfork. No Export outside of North America.

Track listing:

A1 Make Worry For Me 3:58
A2 Good To My Girls 2:41
A3 God Is Waiting 3:07
A4 Hall Of Death 3:21
A5 Shorty's Ark 3:29
A6 I Am A Youth Inclined To Ramble 6:07
B1 My Popsicle 2:48
B2 Watch What Happens 2:55
B3 Resist The Urge 2:34
B4 There Must Be A Someone 2:41
B5 My Blue Suit 2:36
B6 My Body Is My Own 2:36
B7 You Can Regret What You Have Done 2:05
B8 Not Fooling 2:34