Dillinger- CB200

Dillinger- CB200

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Get On Down

Released 4/13/19

By the 1970s Reggae had spread from Jamaica and become an international phenomena. Enter Dillinger, who rose up with the El Paso Sound System as part of the second generation of Jamaican toasters. His name came from American gangster John Dillinger at the suggestion of none other than Lee Perry (who produced his first album). A deal with Island Records followed, with sessions happening at Channel One Studios with Joseph "Jo Jo" Hoo Kim producing. Recording at Channel One in mid-70s meant Dillinger and Jo Jo were tapping into an immense talent pool in the form of The Revolutionaries, the studio’s in-house band. CB 200 features contributions from Earl “Chinna” Smith, Aston “Family Man” Barrett, Ansel Collins, Sly Dunbar, and Tommy McCook among others. The release also brought forth the career defining cut “Cokane In My Brain”, a hit record on an international basis.

Despite the success of CB 200 and “Cokane In My Brain” the release has remained out of print in all formats since the mid-1980s. Get On Down is about to change that, with their Record Store Day 2019 reissue of this too often overlooked Reggae masterpiece.

Track Listing:
  1. C.B. 200 2:34
  2. No Chuck It 2:52
  3. Cokane In My Brain 2:44
  4. The General 2:58
  5. Power Bank 3:02
  6. Plantation Heights 2:52
  7. Race Day 3:35
  8. Natty Kick Like Lightning 2:27
  9. Buckingham Palace 4:11
  10. Crankface 2:37