Dizzy Gillespie Quintet- Live In Las Vegas 1963

Dizzy Gillespie Quintet- Live In Las Vegas 1963

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Jazz Rewind

Reissued 9/15/2023

This remarkable recording sees its first-ever vinyl press. An unissued performance by one of the true jazz giants, Dizzy Gillespie. At the time of this recording, Gillespie was close to the halfway point of his career and very much in his musical prime. The quintet featured here began to form when saxophonist Leo Wright joined Gillespie in 1959 and pianist Lalo Schifrin was hired the following year. Bassist Chris White and drummer Rudy Collins became members in 1962. Recorded at the Las Vegas Convention Center, the group explores some of Gillespie’s finest and most famous originals, including "Con Alma" and "A Night in Tunisia". Those famous trumpet breaks will not disappoint. A true stereo recording, transferred from the original analog tapes. Pressed on heavyweight virgin vinyl.

Track listing:

  1. Here It Is
  2. There Is No Greater Love
  3. Con Alma
  4. Greensleeves
  5. A Night In Tunisia
  6. Salt Peanuts
  7. Long, Long Summer
  8. Morning Of The Carnival
  9. Kush
  10. Kush (Cont.)
  11. School Days
  12. I Can’t Get Started > 'Round Midnight
  13. Oops-Shoo-Be-Doo-Be