Faye Webster- Atlanta Millionaires Club

Faye Webster- Atlanta Millionaires Club

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Secretly Canadian

Released 5/24/19

Atlanta Millionaires Club is in FAYE WEBSTER’s feelings, and that’s the way she likes it. “Everything is way personal,” WEBSTER says. “I have to write about very personal things for me to even want to write.” On the 21-year-old Atlanta native’s new album, the omnipresence of pedal steel eschews bluegrass trappings, flexible under Webster’s genre-bending direction. WEBSTER didn’t set out to make it sound like any artist in particular, but she cites AALIYAH as her main musical inspiration for how she uses sound. Pulling from a familial lineage of folk storytelling and time spent in Atlanta’s hip-hop scene, WESBTER’s work is a study of duality, weaving through her own introversion and heartbreak; it’s an idiosyncratic sadness punctuated by fleeting observations and an unexpected, sly sense of humor. And like the way WEBSTER takes the traditional instrumentation of Americana and flips it into something else, she uses her own calm, laid-back demeanor to say you can be boldly and unapologetically yourself in a quiet way, too.

Track Listing:

  1. Room Temperature
  2. Right Side of My Neck
  3. Hurts Me Too
  4. Pigeon
  5. Jonny
  6. Kingston
  7. Come to Atlanta
  8. What Used to Be Mine
  9. Flowers (Feat. Father)
  10. Jonny (Reprise)