Grimes- Miss Anthropocene

Grimes- Miss Anthropocene

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: 4AD

Released 2/21/20

Grimes releases her long awaited new album Miss Anthropocene on 4AD. Includes the singles So Heavy I Fell Through the Earth and Violence and featuring collaborations with 潘PAN and i_o. The album's name is a pun on the feminine title "Miss", and the words "misanthrope" and "Anthropocene", a neologism popularised in the year 2000 by Paul J. Crutzen that was proposed to denote the current geological age the Earth is in. The album is a loose concept album about an "anthropomorphic goddess of climate change" inspired by Roman mythology and villainy. Miss Anthropocene is Grimes' final album on record label 4AD, to which she has been signed since 2012. Sonically, the album is a departure from Grimes' 2015 album Art Angels: Miss Anthropocene is primarily darker in style containing inspiration from the sounds of nu metal and ethereal wave compared to Art Angels' brighter and more upbeat sounds.

Track Listing:

  1. So Heavy I Fell Through the Earth (Algorithm Mix)
  2. Darkseid (Grimes & Pan)
  3. Delete Forever
  4. Violence (Original Mix)
  5. 4ÆM
  6. New Gods
  7. My Name Is Dark (Algorithm Mix)
  8. You'll Miss Me When I'm Not Around
  9. Before the Fever
  10. Idoru (Algorithm Mix)