House Of Pain- House Of Pain
House Of Pain- House Of Pain

House Of Pain- House Of Pain

Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Tommy Boy

Reissued 7/22/2022, Originally released 2000

Tommy Boy Records celebrates "30 Years" of House of Pain's debut album House of Pain (Fine Malt Lyrics) with remastered, limited edition release on July 22, 2022' Everlast, DJ Lethal & Danny Boy formed House of Pain while attending high school and were signed to Tommy Boy Records after fashioning themselves as rowdy Irish-American hooligans, hitting the local rap & alternative music scene. House of Pain (Fine Malt Lyrics) went multi-platinum and the self titled debut album spawned the successful producer DJ Muggs, who produced the single "Jump Around". The song was also remixed twice by Pete Rock, one version featuring a verse from him and one without."Jump Around" became a hit in 1992, reaching number 3 in the United States. A 1993 re-release of the song in the United Kingdom, where the initial release had been a minor hit, peaked at number 8. "Jump Around" was featured at position 580 on Q Magazine's "1001 Best Songs Ever, " number 24 on VH1's "100 Greatest Songs of the 90s, " number 66 on VH1's "100 Greatest Songs of Hip Hop, " number 325 on Blender's "500 Greatest Songs Since You Were Born" and number 47 on NME's "100 Best Songs of the 1990s." The song is popular among dancehall DJs and is widely regarded in the United Kingdom as a club classic. The album also featured Cypress Hill member B-Real on the song "Put Your Head Out" and Funkdoobiest's Son Doobie on "House and the Rising Sun", both members of the musical collective known as Soul Assassins. Q magazine "... their music is of the dense, hard-hitting school of hip hop... The group have absorbed black rap's musical lessons and create a satisfying platform for their above average deliveries... " The Source "... a very solid and at times exceptional album... imagine if Licensed to Ill wasn't an upper middle class Jewish thing but rather a working class Irish thing... The atmosphere is like that of a cross between a frat party and a bar room brawl.

Track listing:

  1. Salutations
  2. Jump Around
  3. Put Your Head Out
  4. Top O' the Morning to Ya
  5. Commercial 1
  6. House and the Rising Sun
  7. Shamrocks and Shenanigans
  8. House of Pain Anthem
  9. Danny Boy, Danny Boy
  10. Guess Who's Back
  11. Commercial 2
  12. Put on Your Shit Kickers
  13. Come and Get Some of This
  14. Life Goes on
  15. One for the Road
  16. Feel It
  17. All My Love