Ike Quebec - Four Classic Albums

Ike Quebec - Four Classic Albums

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Avid Jazz

Released 2018

Although not as well known as other big tenor men like John Coltrane, Hank Mobley, or Benny Golson, Ike Quebec was a major contributor to the classic era of jazz and this 1961 Blue Note date captures him in his prime. BLUE & SENTIMENTAL is indeed one of but a few discs that Quebec recorded for Blue Note, although he was involved with the legendary label as an A&R man and performed on many sessions by other artists. His huge, velvety tone and bluesy swagger are Quebec's signature as he lopes and swings through several classic tunes like Count Basie's lazy title track, the bouncing "That Old Black Magic," and Cole Porter's hauntingly melodic "It's Alright With Me." Filling out the quartet are no less than Grant Green, Paul Chambers, and Philly Joe Jones, Blue Note regulars all, who shine brightly as always. Other choice moments on this disc include Quebec and Green's tight interaction on Quebec's catchy "Minor Impulse," the smoky ballad "Don't Take Your Love From Me," and the easy-going closer "Count Every Star."

Track Listing:

CD1 - Blue and Sentimental & It Might As Well Be Spring

  1. Blue And Sentimental
  2. Minor Impulse
  3. Don’t Take Your Love From Me
  4. Blues For Charlie
  5. Like
  6. Count Every Star
  7. It Might As Well Be Spring
  8. A Light Reprieve
  9. Easy-Don’t Hurt
  10. Lover Man
  11. Ol’ Man River
  12. Willow Weep For Me

CD2 - Heavy Soul & Bossa Nova Soul Samba

  1. Acquitted
  2. Just One More Chance
  3. Que’s Dilemma
  4. Brother Can You Spare A Dime
  5. The Man I Love
  6. Heavy Soul
  7. I Want A Little Girl
  8. Nature Boy
  9. Loie
  10. Lloro Tu Despedida
  11. Goin’ Home
  12. Me ‘N You
  13. Liebestraum
  14. Shu Shu
  15. Blue Samba
  16. Favela
  17. Linda Flor