Jimi Hendrix- Live At Berkeley

Jimi Hendrix- Live At Berkeley

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Experience Music

Released 2012

In the aftermath of the BAND OF GYPSYS, Jimi Hendrix looked to refocus his career and meet the challenges of a new decade. The powerful impact that Jimi's appearances at both Monterey Pop and Woodstock had created had not been lost and Berkeley had developed as a flash point in the heated battle over the Vietnam War and other emerging social and political issues. Hendrix had filled the spacious, nearby Oakland Coliseum the previous year and could have easily done so again, but elected for the more intimate theater setting as the venue. All of the available tickets for both shows were quickly snapped up and on the evening of the concerts, more than a thousand empty-handed fans were turned away. Tensions between patrons, venue security, local police, and those without tickets escalated. Ensconced safely backstage, Jimi was unaware of the turbulence that surrounded the building. The sold out house roared its approval as Jimi and the Experience took the stage. Jimi prefaced the concert with a request he often made of his audience, asking them to "forget about yesterday or tomorrow, this is our own little world tonight." The evening's second set is presented here in its entirety and original sequence.

Track listing:

  1. Introduction
  2. Pass It on (Straight Ahead)
  3. Hey Baby (New Rising Sun)
  4. Lover Man
  5. Stone Free
  6. Hey Joe
  7. I Don't Live Today
  8. Machine Gun
  9. Foxey Lady
  10. Star Spangled Banner
  11. Purple Haze
  12. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)