John Coltrane- Africa/Brass

John Coltrane- Africa/Brass

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Waxtime

Reissued 2019, Originally released 1961

Limited 180gm orange virgin vinyl LP pressing. Includes bonus track. Africa/Brass is the eighth studio album by jazz musician John Coltrane, released in 1961 on Impulse! Records. The sixth release for the fledgling label and Coltrane's first for Impulse!, it features Coltrane's working quartet augmented by a larger ensemble to bring the total number of participating musicians to 21. It's big band sound, with the unusual instrumentation of French horns and euphonium, presented music very different from anything that had been associated with Coltrane to date.

Track listing:

  1. Africa
  2. Greensleeves
  3. Blues Minor
  4. Song of the Underground Railroad