John Coltrane- Blue World

John Coltrane- Blue World

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Verve

Released 9/27/19

In 1964, the National Film Board of Canada asked JOHN COLTRANE to record the soundtrack for the French-language film titled Le Chat Dans Le Sac" (The Cat In The Bag). Amazingly, no announcement was made that the iconic COLTRANE was adding new performances to this film. In June of that year, COLTRANE's Classic Quartet entered Rudy Van Gelder's studio and recorded five previously recorded COLTRANE originals. For many years, viewers of the film who recognized the music thought that they were listening to the original recordings, though in fact they were new and had never been heard. Now, with the release of "Blue World," we can hear these newly-discovered recordings for the first time." - Impulse

Track Listing:

  1. Naima (Take 1)
  2. Village Blues (Take 2)
  3. Blue World
  4. Village Blues (Take 1)
  5. Village Blues (Take 3)
  6. Like Sonny
  7. Traneing in
  8. Naima (Take 2)