Josef K- Sorry For Laughing

Josef K- Sorry For Laughing

Regular price
Sold out
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: LTM

Reissued 7/2/2021, Originally released 1980

First-ever vinyl LP release of Sorry for Laughing, the legendary first album by cult Scottish guitar group Josef K, recorded for Postcard Records but destined to become the great 'lost album' of the post-punk era. Recorded at Castle Sound Studios (Edinburgh) in November 1980, Sorry for Laughing should have been issued as Postcard 81-1, but was shelved after the band and label boss Alan Horne decided the 12-song set sounded too polished. Perhaps two dozen white-label copies in unmade sleeves exist, and have sold for as much as £1,000 amongst collectors. Josef K issued their second stab at a debut album, the Only Fun in Town, in July 1981, only to split after completing a promotional tour. This remastered vinyl-only edition of Sorry for Laughing replicates the original Robert Sharp artwork with detailed sleeve notes on the inner bag, and the added bonus of a 12 track CD, the TV Art Demos, featuring all tracks from the band's very first recording sessions in 1979.

Track listing:

  1. Fun 'N' Frenzy
  2. Heads Watch
  3. Drone
  4. Sense of Guilt
  5. Art of Things
  6. Crazy to Exist
  7. Citizens
  8. Variation of Scene
  9. Terry's Show Lies
  10. No Glory
  11. Endless Soul
  12. Sorry for Laughing
  13. Chance Meeting (Take 1)
  14. Terry's Show Lies
  15. No Glory
  16. Final Request
  17. Art of Things
  18. Romance (Take 1)
  19. Torn Mentor
  20. Night Ritual
  21. Heads Watch
  22. Chance Meeting (Take 2)
  23. Sense of Guilt
  24. Romance (Take 2)