Lightning Bolt- Earthly Delights

Lightning Bolt- Earthly Delights

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Thrill Jockey

Reissued 11/18/2022, Originally released 2009

Lightning Bolt redefined what it means to be DIY. An utterly singular band in every way, unbridled creativity and energy propel them well past most categorical boundaries, the least of which is the boundary between band and audience. Theirs is an immersive experience – a sound so huge it can swallow us all. Earthly Delights is the metal album to Lightning Bolt’s genre-straddling discography, using the signature speed and volume reminiscent of past releases while centering around growling chords and monolithic rhythms commonly found in the foundations of metal. Amorphous songs feature a sort of gravitational pull, dragging listeners in and driving the pounding rhythms of Brian Chippendale into the brain until they are stuck in. Wielding the bass, Brian Gibson strays from his typical high-end runs, cramming thick chords between frantic beats, creating a brutal and grueling churn. Although this record is likely to wear you out with unrelenting heaviness and elongated mega-jamming, we think fans will find this reissue of Earthly Delights quite– delightful...

Track listing:

  1. Sound Guardians
  2. Nation Of Boar
  3. Colossus
  4. The Sublime Freak
  5. Flooded Chamber
  6. Funny Farm
  7. Rain On Lake I'm Swimming In
  8. S.O.S.
  9. Transmissionary