Loop- Heaven's End

Loop- Heaven's End

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Reactor

Reissued 2012, Originally released 1987

"British primal psych band Loop was formed in London in 1986 by Robert Hampson on guitar and vocals and Beki Stewart (Bex) on drums. After finding bassist Glen Ray, Loop signed to Head Records, run by Jeff Barrett (Heavenly), and released the feedbackdrenched 12-inch, 16 Dreams. With the arrival of James Endeacott on second guitar, drummer John Wills, and bassist Neil MacKay, Loop adopted a more primal, rhythmic approach and put out their debut full-length, 1987's Heavens End. The band hypnotized all with their discordant, trance-like spell which served as an antidote to the prevailing trends in British pop at the time; they resurrected the concept of loud, out-there rock for a new era, creating droning soundscapes of bleak beauty and harsh dissonance loosely influenced by The Velvet Underground, The Stooges, The MC5, but retaining the avant-garde and experimental edge of Can, Faust, Neu!, Rhys Chatham, Glenn Branca, and minimalist systems music. Live shows were revelatory -- Loop pushed PAs to the very limit, delivering a sonic pummel that has yet to be experienced since."

Track listing:

  1. Soundhead 
  2. Straight To Your Heart 
  3. Forever 
  4. Heaven's End 
  5. Too Real To Feel 
  6. Fix To Fall 
  7. Head On 
  8. Carry Me