Lootpack- The Lost Tapes

Lootpack- The Lost Tapes

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Crate Diggas

Reissued 6/3/2022, Originally released 2004

"Before Madvillain, before Yesterday's New Quintet and before Quasimoto or any other of his several alter egos, Madlib perfected his craft as an MC/producer in the Lootpack. Along with DJ Romes, and fellow rhymer Wildchild, they released the dusty full-length, Soundpieces: Da Antidote back in 1999, that laid down the foundation for the unique and dusty sound now associated with Madlib. The loose, freeform recordings on this collection are circa 1996 when the group was managed by Madlib's father, and they show the now-renowned maverick producer in comparatively restrained form. Madlib's scope and imagination was clearly fixated on East coast jazzy hip-hop production from the early '90s, laying down soundscapes for his hungry crew including the likes of Kazi, Declaime and Medaphoar, who have all become well known underground rap vets. Madlib's own strong mic presence is noticeable given his now only-on-rare-occasion rhyming, but it's his production that is the most fascinating element here. While a resolutely hip-hop project, the burgeoning jazzy flourishes and Madlib's heavily accomplished ear for sound makes the record an important starting point for adherents of his more recent exploratory work."

Track listing:

  1. Innersoul
  2. Interlude 1
  3. Psyche Move
  4. I Come Real With This
  5. Interlude 2
  6. Situation
  7. Get Whack
  8. Antidote To Da Antidope
  9. Interlude 3
  10. Attack Of The Tupperware Puppets
  11. Interlude 4
  12. Forever Beef
  13. What 'Cha Gotta Say?
  14. Interlude 5
  15. Miss Deja Vu
  16. I Declare War
  17. Why Do We Go Out Like That?
  18. Make Your Ears Want To Bleed
  19. Interlude 6
  20. Female Request Line
  21. Undisciplined
  22. Hip Hop