Say Anything- In Defense Of The Genre
Say Anything- In Defense Of The Genre

Say Anything- In Defense Of The Genre

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Music On Vinyl

Reissued 2022, Originally released 2007

Numbered edition on 180-gram audiophile black vinyl in a gatefold sleeve including 4-page booklet & cover art by Jeff Smith, creator of the multiple award-winning comic series "Bone." In 2000, Max Bernis formed the American rock band Say Anything together with some friends. Up until 2018, when the band went on a hiatus, they released eight studio albums. In 2007 they released their third studio album In Defense of the Genre. Bernis mentioned on the album that "musically, it's different, more mature and somewhat more cohesive and poppy, but darker in a whole different way". The album features 23 individual guest appearances, including Gerard Way (My Chemical Romance), Pete Yorn, Anna Waronker (That Dog), Adam Lazzara (Talking Back Sunday), Aaron Gillespie (Underoath, The Almost), Matt Skiba (Blink-182, Alkaline Trio) and Haylay Williams (Paramore) amongst others.

Track listing:

  1. Skinny, Mean Man
  2. No Soul
  3. That Is Why
  4. Surgically Removing the Tracking Device
  5. This Is F*Ing Ecstasy
  6. The Church Channel
  7. Shiksa (Girlfriend)
  8. Baby Girl, I'm a Blur
  9. Retarded in Love
  10. People Like You Are Why People Like Me Exist
  11. Died a Jew
  12. An Insult to the Dead
  13. Sorry, Dudes. My Bad
  14. Spay Me
  15. In Defense of the Genre
  16. The Truth Is, You Should Lie with Me
  17. The Word You Wield
  18. Vexed
  19. About Falling
  20. You're the Wanker, If Anyone Is
  21. Spores
  22. We Killed It
  23. Have at Thee!
  24. Hangover Song
  25. Goodbye Young Tutor, You've Now Outgrown Me
  26. I Used to Have a Heart
  27. Plea