Spacehog- The Chinese Album

Spacehog- The Chinese Album

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Sire / Real Gone Music

Reissued 9/16/2022, Originally released 1998

The second (1998) release from the British expat group Spacehog, The Chinese Album was originally conceived as the soundtrack for a movie called Mungo City; the movie never got made but thankfully the album retained the glam/power pop song by the same name (which, in a just universe, would have been a big hit)! This record never really got its due, partly because the band took three years to follow up on the success of their debut album Resident Alien and its hit 'In the Meantime.' But The Chinese Album, in many ways, is a much more fully-realized work than its predecessor; instead of merely playing at being a glam-rock band, Spacehog here crafts a fully-realized sound and aesthetic, with nods to such artists as Queen, Badfinger, The Kinks, and even R.E.M. (Michael Stipe makes an appearance on the mellow 'Almond Kisses'). And the songwriting (e.g. 'Lucy's Shoe') is consistently strong, making The Chinese Album one of the late '90s' great lost records. For its vinyl debut, we've pressed 1000 copies in limited-edition maroon vinyl, and created a 4-page full-sized, full-color insert to hold all the groovy graphics that accompanied the CD release!

Track listing:

  1. One of These Days
  2. Goodbye Violet Race
  3. Lucy's Shoe
  4. Mungo City
  5. Skylark
  6. Sand in Your Eyes
  7. Captain Freeman
  8. 2nd Avenue
  9. Almond Kisses
  10. Carry on
  11. Anonymous
  12. Beautiful Girl