Thad Jones / Mel Lewis Orchestra - All My Yesterdays - Debut 1966 Recordings At Village…

Thad Jones / Mel Lewis Orchestra - All My Yesterdays - Debut 1966 Recordings At Village…

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more


Label: Resonance

Released 11/29/19

All My Yesterdays is the first official release of the opening night recordings of the THAD JONES/MEL LEWIS ORCHESTRA at the legendary Village Vanguard in NYC on February 7, 1966 and March 21, 1966 endorsed by the estates of THAD LEWIS, MEL LEWIS and the Village Vanguard. Originally released as a 2CD set in 2016, this deluxe triple gatefold 3LP edition comes with an expansive 16-page insert providing rare photos by Chuck Stewart, Raymond Ross, Ray Avery and Jan Persson; essays by executive producer and original recording engineer George Klabin, associate producer Chris Smith (author of The View from the Back of the Band: The Life and Music of Mel Lewis), longtime VANGUARD JAZZ ORCHESTRA arranger and pianist JIM MCNEELY and more! All of the living musicians who played on these recordings also contributed their accounts via interviews, including saxophonists JERRY DODGION, EDDIE DANIELS and MARV "DOC" HOLLDAY, trumpeter JIMMY OWNES, trombonists GARNETT BROWN and TOM MCINTOSH, along with bassist RICHARD DAVIS. Limited edition of 2,000 on 180-gram black vinyl. Mastered by Bernie Grundman and pressed by Record Technology Inc. at 33 1/3RMP.

Track Listing:

  1. Backbone
  2. All My Yesterdays
  3. Big Dipper
  4. Mornin Reverend
  5. The Little Pixie
  6. Big Dipper
  7. Low Down
  8. Lover Man
  9. Ah, That’s Freedom
  10. Don’t Ever Leave Me
  11. Willow Weep For Me
  12. Mean What You Say
  13. Once Around
  14. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
  15. Mornin Reverend
  16. All My Yesterdays
  17. Backbone