Van Halen- Van Halen

Van Halen- Van Halen

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Warner Bros. / Rhino

Reissued 2020, Originally released 1978

With their 1978 eponymous debut, Van Halen simultaneously rewrote the rules of rock guitar and hard rock in general. Guitarist Eddie Van Halen redefined what the electric guitar could do, developing a blindingly fast technique with a variety of self-taught two-handed tapping, hammer-on's, pull-offs, and effects that mimicked the sounds of machines and animals. It was wildly inventive and over the top, equaled only by vocalist David Lee Roth, who brought the role of a metal singer to near-performance art standards. Mastering engineer Chris Bellman, who remastered the original albums at Bernie Grundman Mastering Studios, was enlisted for this new version. In order to produce the original sound the band intended, Bellman cut straight from the quarter-inch tapes.

Track listing:

  1. Runnin' with the Devil 
  2. Eruption 
  3. You Really Got Me 
  4. Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love
  5. I'm the One 
  6. Jamie's Cryin' 
  7. Atomic Punk 
  8. Feel Your Love Tonight 
  9. Little Dreamer 
  10. Ice Cream Man 
  11. On Fire