Vex Ruffin- Conveyor

Vex Ruffin- Conveyor

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Stones Throw

Released 2017

On paper Vex Ruffin's music is simple: an untrained punk musician who uses a few basic instruments in uncomplicated ways, he calls the style 'minimalist.' Although it may not seem like it upon first listen, Vex's music is rooted in sampling and hip hop beat-making culture. The SP 303 sampler provides the drums and other sounds, a purchase inspired by Madlib. Vex is the first and only artist signed to Stones Throw Records on the strength of an unsolicited demo sent through the mail. Peanut Butter Wolf recalls, "It was kind of a fluke that I listened. I just liked the drawing on the cover so I decided to check it out. I called the phone number on the CD and Vex thought I was his friend playing a practical joke."

Track listing:

  1. Intro 
  2. 3 AM 
  3. The World 
  4. The Balance
  5. The Calling 
  6. Own Lane 
  7. Head Hurts 
  8. Front 
  9. Off Track 
  10. Let You Down 
  11. Goes Through 
  12. Conveyor