Weyes Blood- Titanic Rising

Weyes Blood- Titanic Rising

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Sub Pop

Released 4/5/19

The phantom zone, the parallax, the upside down - there is a rich cultural history of exploring in-between places. Through her latest, Titanic Rising, Weyes Blood aka Natalie Mering, has designed her own universe to soulfully navigate life's mysteries. Maneuvering through a space-time continuum, she plays the role of melodic, sometimes melancholic, anthropologist. Tellingly, Mering classifies Titanic Rising - which was written and recorded during the first half of 2018, after three albums and years of touring - as the Kinks meet WWII or Bob Seger meets Enya. The latter captures the album's willful expansiveness ("You can tell there's not a guy pulling the strings in Enya's studio," she notes, admiringly). The former relays her imperative to connect with listeners. "The clarity of Bob Seger is unmistakable. I'm a big fan of conversational songwriting," she adds. "I just try to do that in a way that uses abstract imagery as well."

Track Listing:

  1. A Lot's Gonna Change 4:21
  2. Andromeda 4:40
  3. Everyday 5:07
  4. Something To Believe 4:45
  5. Titanic Rising 1:36
  6. Movies 5:53
  7. Mirror Forever 5:05
  8. Wild Time 6:09
  9. Picture Me Better 3:41
  10. Nearer To Thee 1:05