William Tyler & The Impossible Truth- Secret Stratosphere

William Tyler & The Impossible Truth- Secret Stratosphere

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Merge

Released 3/31/2023

William Tyler & The Impossible Truth have announced the March 31 release of Secret Stratosphere, a live album that represents their first recorded output as a full band. Earlier this week, they shared “Area Code 601,” a rousing live performance of a previously unreleased composition that Tyler cheekily describes as a “Hawkwind meets a Barefoot Jerry number,” uncorking a sound that lives somewhere between mind-expanding prog and beer commercial–backing Southern rock. Recorded May 29, 2021, in Huntsville, Alabama, Secret Stratosphere finds William Tyler and fellow psychedelic dreamers The Impossible Truth refashioning prime cuts from the Nashville guitarist’s rich catalog, casting new light onto once-familiar songs. Featuring the crackling combo of Jack Lawrence (Raconteurs, Dead Weather), Brian Kotzur (Silver Jews, Country Westerns), and Luke Schneider (solo, Margo Price), the quartet stretch the dynamics of Tyler’s compositions to their fullest interdimensional potential, exposing a deep undercurrent of kosmische and post-rock influences, confirming his place as one of our most brilliant guitarists, bandleaders, and composers.

Track listing:

  1. Our Lady of the Desert
  2. Highway Anxiety/Radioactivity
  3. Whole New Dude
  4. I'm Gonna Live Forever (If It Kills Me)
  5. Gone Clear
  6. We Can't Go Home Again
  7. Area Code 601