XTC- Wasp Star (Apple Venus Volume 2)

XTC- Wasp Star (Apple Venus Volume 2)

Regular price
Sale price
Quantity must be 1 or more

Label: Ape House UK

Reissued 2018, originally released 2000

UK Import

Newly mastered by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering from tapes approved by Andy Partridge. Wasp Star, the band's final album (to date), employed far more of the intricately arranged, guitar driven, XTC sound which Dave Gregory had helped to develop from his point of arrival with 1979's Drums & Wires. While not as strikingly different as Apple Venus Vol. I, it was intended as the 'other part' of that album and writing sessions and was subtitled Apple Venus Vol. II. The songwriting had matured immeasurably from the band's 1977 White Music debut, but the early promise of an innovative, fresh, approach to the possibilities of pop songwriting and recording inherent in that debut had been carried through every album of the band's career with Wasp Star merely the latest, possibly last, instalment.

Track Listing:

  1. Playground
  2. Stupidly Happy
  3. In Another Life
  4. My Brown Guitar
  5. Boarded Up
  6. I'm the Man Who
  7. Murdered Love
  8. We're All Light
  9. Standing in for Joe
  10. Wounded Horse
  11. You and the Clouds Will Still Be Beautiful
  12. Church of Women
  13. The Wheel and the Maypole